Academic Grading In Bangladesh

Grading is a systematic measurement of all levels in Education. There are a total of six-level grading systems one to six or A to F. Primary schools, High schools, Colleges, universities of Bangladesh maintain a grading system. Education Board Results are published GPA or CGPA Based. In this post, for all students, we will provide the Academic Grading in Bangladesh. 

Students can check the grading system of the education board for SSC, HSC, and Universities. However, Secondary School Certificate and Higher School Certificate results are given as total mark basis. In the National Universities, it is announced by Division like as First Division, Second Division and Third Division. The education board disclosed the system of GPA from 2001.

Table of Contents

Types of Grading System:

There are two types of grading systems available in Bangladesh. They are Grade Point Average (GPA) and Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA).

There was a radical change in the results of SSC and HSC after the beginning of the Grading System. After eight years of existence, it has built a lot of questions regarding it effectively. Almost all the students reap a GPA of 5 and there was no way to know their obtained marks. It was difficult to judge their results. 

Grading system in school and college :

Class intervalLetter gradeGrade point

For evaluating a student’s performance, The system of letter grading is used. The grades are A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, and D. In the course, F is a failing grade. Moreover, in the grading system I grade means incomplete, W means for withdrawal, R means for a repeat. Students who get grades like F, I, and W do not continue towards graduation. Even their results do not appear in the grading system. Grading Points are always represented with entire numbers such as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 grades. The reason is these grading points do not represent percentages. A student could theoretically answerer ninety percent of questions on a given examination correctly, but still, obtain a GPA of 5 if the ten percent they missed. 

Grading System in NU for Honors and Masters:

Under the British undergraduate degree classification, the National University follows the grading system. For honors and masters, GPA above or equal to three is equal to first Class. Let’s look at the below chart to know the grading system of the NU Academy.

  • CGPA 3.00 to 4.00 =  1st Class
  • CGPA 2.25 to 2.99 =   2nd Class
  • CGPA 2.00 to 2.249 = 3rd Class

Final Words

For all students, we hope that this post will be more beneficial to know the Academic Grading System in Bangladesh. This post will help them enough to know about the grading system. If anyone has any quires about the topic, please let us know. People can keep an eye on our website for our latest updates.

Leave a Comment